Coat_of_Arms Alberta - black.jpg




No. 2021-17


Office of the Minister




Pursuant to section 74.1 of the Employment Standards Code (Code) and on application by Points West Living Heritage House Inc. (PWL), with the support of the Alberta Union of Provincial Employees (AUPE), I, Jason Copping, Minister of Labour and Immigration, hereby grant to PWL, with respect to the employees referred to in section 1 of this Order, and to those employees, a variance respecting section 37(1) of the Code, subject to the following terms and conditions:

1        This Order only applies with respect to the employees who are members of AUPE employed at PWL located in Vegreville, Alberta, subject to the Letter of Agreement between PWL and AUPE dated December 16, 2020.

2        Upon written agreement between the employee and PWL, PWL may give the employee their annual vacation more than 12 months after the employee becomes entitled to it, but no later than December 31, 2021.

3        PWL shall comply with all other applicable provisions in the Code and Employment Standards Regulation.

4        PWL shall comply with the requirements of the Occupational Health and Safety Act, Occupational Health and Safety Code, and Occupational Health and Safety Regulation.

5        Upon receipt of the Order, PWL must provide a copy of this Order to AUPE as soon as possible.

6        Upon receipt of the Order, PWL must provide a copy of it to their employees as soon as possible by:

(a)      personally giving it to the employees,

(b)     posting it in the employees’ workplace,

(c)      posting it on a secure website to which the employees have access, or

(d)     providing it in any other manner that informs the employees of the Order.

7        The Minister may, at any time, amend or revoke this Order.

8        This Order expires December 31, 2021.



DATED at Edmonton, Alberta this 4th day of May, 2021.








                                                                        Jason Copping

                                                                        Minister of Labour and Immigration