Coat_of_Arms Alberta - black.jpg




No. 2019-14


Office of the Minister




Pursuant to section 74.1 of the Employment Standards Code (Code) and on application by the Alberta School Boards Association (ASBA), I, Christina Gray, Minister of Labour, hereby grant to the member school boards of the ASBA listed in the attached Schedule and their employees employed as short-term supervisors before or after school hours, or during lunch hours, a variance respecting section 11 of the Employment Standards Regulation, subject to the following terms and conditions:

1         Employees employed for less than 3 consecutive hours of work in a work day may be paid only for the actual time worked at not less than minimum wage.

2         Employers shall comply with all other applicable provisions in the Code and Employment Standards Regulation.

3         Employers shall comply with the requirements of the Occupational Health and Safety Act, Occupational Health and Safety Code, and Occupational Health and Safety Regulation.

4         ASBA must provide a copy of this Order to the employers as soon as possible.

5         Upon receipt of the Order, each employer must provide a copy of it to their employees and any related bargaining agents as soon as possible by:

(a)       delivering it in person,

(b)      posting it in the workplace,

(c)       posting it on a secure, accessible work-related website, or

(d)      providing it in any other manner that informs the employees and bargaining agents of the Order.

6         The Minister may, at any time, amend or revoke this Order.

7         This Order is valid for two years from the date of signing.


DATED at Edmonton, Alberta this______ day of ________ ___________, 2019.






                                                                        Christina Gray

                                                                        Minister of Labour



Schedule to Ministerial Order No. 2019-14


Employer School Boards


1.    Black Gold Regional No. 18

2.    Calgary Regional Catholic School Division No. 1

3.    Edmonton Public School District No. 7

4.    Elk Island PS Regional Division No. 14

5.    Medicine Hat CS Regional Division No. 20

6.    Parkland School Division No. 70

7.    Red Deer Catholic Regional Division No. 39

8.    Red Deer Public School District No. 104

9.    St. Albert PSSD No. 6

10.  St. Thomas Aquinas RCS Regional Division No. 38

11.  Wetaskiwin Regional Division No. 11

12.  Rocky View School Division No. 41