Copyright and Disclaimer Print



Chapter E‑4.3

Table of Contents

                1      Electoral divisions

                2      Names of electoral divisions

                3      Description of electoral divisions

                4      Regulations

                5      Transitional

                6      Repeal

                7      Coming into force


HER MAJESTY, by and with the advice and consent of the Legislative Assembly of Alberta, enacts as follows:

Electoral divisions

1   The electoral divisions for the purposes of the Election Act are the 87 electoral divisions established by this Act.


Names of electoral divisions

2   The names of the electoral divisions are those set out in the Schedule.


Description of electoral divisions

3   The boundaries of the electoral divisions are those described in the DVD prepared by the Chief Electoral Officer as directed by a resolution of the Legislative Assembly and tabled as Sessional Paper (624/2017).


4   Notwithstanding section 3, if the boundary between 2 electoral divisions passes through a building used for one or more residences, the Chief Electoral Officer, after consultation with the returning officers for those electoral divisions, may by regulation prescribe the electoral division in which the building is to be located for the purposes of the Election Act.



5(1)  A reference to an electoral division in the Election Act or the Election Finances and Contributions Disclosure Act includes a reference to an electoral division established by this Act as if sections 1 to 4 of this Act were in force in circumstances where, with respect to the next general election, an act or a thing is required, authorized or permitted to be done or exercised under those Acts before a writ is issued for that general election.

(2)  Nothing in subsection (1) authorizes any person or organization in any way to circumvent, or attempt to circumvent, an expense limit set out in the Election Finances and Contributions Disclosure Act.



6   The Electoral Divisions Act, SA 2010 cE‑4.2, is repealed.


Coming into force

7   This Act, except section 5, comes into force on the day that a writ is issued under section 40 of the Election Act for the next general election.

(NOTE:  The writ issued under section 40 of the Election Act for a general election was issued on March 19, 2019.)



Names of the Electoral Divisions

1             Calgary‑Acadia

2             Calgary‑Beddington

3             Calgary‑Bow

4             Calgary‑Buffalo

5             Calgary‑Cross

6             Calgary‑Currie

7             Calgary‑East

8             Calgary‑Edgemont

9             Calgary‑Elbow

10           Calgary‑Falconridge

11           Calgary‑Fish Creek

12           Calgary‑Foothills

13           Calgary‑Glenmore

14           Calgary‑Hays

15           Calgary‑Klein

16           Calgary‑Lougheed

17           Calgary‑McCall

18           Calgary‑Mountain View

19           Calgary‑North

20           Calgary‑North East

21           Calgary‑North West

22           Calgary‑Peigan

23           Calgary‑Shaw

24           Calgary‑South East

25           Calgary‑Varsity

26           Calgary‑West

27           Edmonton‑Beverly‑Clareview

28           Edmonton‑Castle Downs

29           Edmonton‑City Centre

30           Edmonton‑Decore

31           Edmonton‑Ellerslie

32           Edmonton‑Glenora

33           Edmonton‑Gold Bar

34           Edmonton‑Highlands‑Norwood

35           Edmonton‑Manning

36           Edmonton‑McClung

37           Edmonton‑Meadows

38           Edmonton‑Mill Woods

39           Edmonton‑North West

40           Edmonton‑Riverview

41           Edmonton‑Rutherford

42           Edmonton‑South

43           Edmonton‑South West

44           Edmonton‑Strathcona

45           Edmonton‑West Henday

46           Edmonton‑Whitemud

47           Airdrie‑Cochrane

48           Airdrie‑East

49           Athabasca‑Barrhead‑Westlock

50           Banff‑Kananaskis

51           Bonnyville‑Cold Lake‑St. Paul

52           Brooks‑Medicine Hat

53           Camrose

54           Cardston‑Siksika

55           Central Peace‑Notley

56           Chestermere‑Strathmore

57           Cypress‑Medicine Hat

58           Drayton Valley‑Devon

59           Drumheller‑Stettler

60           Fort McMurray‑Lac La Biche

61           Fort McMurray‑Wood Buffalo

62           Fort Saskatchewan‑Vegreville

63           Grande Prairie

64           Grande Prairie‑Wapiti

65           Highwood

66           Innisfail‑Sylvan Lake

67           Lac Ste. Anne‑Parkland

68           Lacombe‑Ponoka

69           Leduc‑Beaumont

70           Lesser Slave Lake

71           Lethbridge‑East

72           Lethbridge‑West

73           Livingstone‑Macleod

74           Maskwacis‑Wetaskiwin

75           Morinville‑St. Albert
76           Olds‑Didsbury‑Three Hills

77           Peace River

78           Red Deer‑North

79           Red Deer‑South

80           Rimbey‑Rocky Mountain House‑Sundre

81           Sherwood Park

82           Spruce Grove‑Stony Plain

83           St. Albert

84           Strathcona‑Sherwood Park

85           Taber‑Warner

86           Vermilion‑Lloydminster‑Wainwright

87           West Yellowhead